Emacs on macOS?

Hi,

I’m in the midst of switching jobs. I’m a developer and I use Emacs for pretty much all my development. At my old job I had the luxury of using Guix to setup my dev environment.

I wont have that luxury at my new one as I’ll be getting a MacBook to use (unclear of what model). So I’m thinking on how to best setup Emacs on that machine. I haven’t used macOS in probably 15 years so just using a Mac will be an adventure in itself.

The way I see it is that I have three options:

1. Use homebrew to install Emacs, then let Emacs’ package manager handle the emacs packages. However there will be packages that require external tools that I need to install.
  2. Port my guix home configuration to Nix and use that to setup Emacs. I need to learn Nix though.
  3. Install a virtual machine of my current guix system and use that. Unclear how well that will work on macOS. Was not the most stable experience when I tried it on my steam deck using GNOME Boxes.

Any Mac users here that can share their wisdom?

For reference here is my current Emacs configuration using guix home: plt/home/emacs.scm

Thanks

Hi, I am working on a Mac as main machine. I use the native Emacs package for MacOS, but other than that just a standard Emacs installation with my ~/.emacs.d containing all configurations, packages etc.

I also work on linux and on windows, and I had no trouble just porting my ~/.emacs.d over to those platforms and also have everything working, so I expect you will be fine :slight_smile:

Thanks for sharing your Emacs configuration, I will try to have a look at some point.

Cheers,
Marc

Hi,

Ah ok. Maybe I was overthinking this. :sweat_smile: Nice to know that you can seamlessly switch between all of the major platforms.

No problem, this link might be better to get a better understanding how my Emacs configuration is setup: dotemacs

Edit: Sticky ctrl got in the way so I posted before I had finished my reply…