Project-butler: A package to open buffers and arrange their windows when switching projects

demo-C-x-p-p-o

Look ma, I made my first Emacs package! It’s called Project Butler. It adds a further option to the project-switch-commands of the built-in project.el and opens buffers and lays them out for you.

It uses a very simple syntax to describe window layouts. For example, 1|2_3< results in a layout like this:

|----|----|
  |    | 2  |
  | 1* |----|
  |    | 3  |
  |----|----|

When set up for a project, all it takes is to switch to the project (e.g. by C-x p p ), choose the project, type “o”. And that’s it.

Optionally, the butler also cleans up after you.

See the git repo for details.

This is my first emacs package. Also I’m not a programmer by trade, I only wrote this to scratch my own itch. Any constructive feedback is very welcome!

2 Likes

This is an interesting idea, and I don’t want to devalue your work, but have you seen Activities? GitHub - alphapapa/activities.el: Activities for Emacs (suspend and resume activities, i.e. frames/tabs and their windows, buffers) It solves this problem in a more flexible, powerful way.

1 Like

Hey @alphapapa, thanks. No, in fact I don’t know Activities. When I started writing project-butler, I searched for other packages and I did find burly and bufler, but Activities apparently hadn’t been published, yet. On first glance, it looks like I wouldn’t have written my packages if Activities had existed, because they indeed seem to scratch the same itch. Activities seems to do much more, too. I’ll give it a closer look. Thanks for the heads-up!

1 Like

I gave Activities a whirl. A terrific package, as always, @alphapapa!
The only thing I’m missing is a project oriented workflow.
One could e.g. add an Activities option to project-switch-commands and provide an option to associate a defined activity to a project. So all it would take is to select a project and then hit e.g. “a” to resume the respective activity.