Is there a good learning material on guile scheme?

I learned haskell, clojure, python, and janet lisp.

I was curious about gnu guix and guile scheme.

I just scanned guile scheme manual, and I freaked out.

It supports R5RS, R6RS, and R7RS.

Guile scheme seems like a chimera of several scheme standards. This is like learning to speak different dialects of english at the same time.

As a result, the manual outsources language education to RnRS documents. I don’t think beginners should learn scheme from RnRS documents? Some native english speakers may want to flex their english muscles by speaking several dialects of english fluently, but I’m just a beginner.

The Systemcrafters course is fantastic. Store still says the last offering was in June, so I’m not sure when the next iteration of that class will be, but keep a look out for it.

1 Like

Couldn’t agree more. The course on guile scheme was so much more than I expected it to be, absolutely well worth the money. The discussions within the course cohort was also wonderfully instructive.

It isn’t available now. And, I want to know free options.

Almost free is the $7 Kindle version of Mastering Scheme Programming: From Basics to Expert Proficiency. I’m up to Chapter 8, using Guile, and the only hiccup I’ve encountered is in using the read-line function in Chapter 7. In Guile you have to “import” it with (use-modules (ice-9 rdelim))", and the book doesn’t cover use-modules. (Using Guile Modules (Guile Reference Manual)) Good Luck.

Is that really a good book? I looked at that author and publisher and it seems very fishy with one guy writing 50+ books on all sorts of topics. This doesn’t sound legit.

I once read an interview of a tech writer explaining how he does it - maybe even the same guy.