Craftable Systems with BlueBuild (Ublue) custom images

Hi !

Long time listener and occasional Discord/IRC/Matrix lurker.

Truth be told, although I watch every stream, I’ve stopped watching them live because it seems like half the time is spent with David having to wrangle with Guix rather than spending time to properly show software or techniques.

After yesterday’s stream about distrobox and the mention of “Cloud Native” linux distros, I thought I’d share my workflow with Ublue Linux custom images, now spun off as BlueBuild.

Optional Story Time (and rant)

I’m not a programmer, I’m a technical artist that creates 2D/3D visuals for VFX, live events and television. I work with high-end proprietary software, all of which run natively on Linux and are fairly optimized for use with Nvidia cards. Sometimes I have to write some code (shell, python, C++) to create tools or have to run some containers for AI stuff, but overall writing code is not my job.

But~ I have to manage a render farm of 5+ computers, 3 of which I sometimes take with me on studio sets. So being able have standardized configs that I can easily swap to is really helpful.

While Guix was fun to use on an old thinkpad, it was just not possible for me to reliably use for desktops/workstations or even a surface tablet (even with Nonguix). I genuinely liked Guix and want it to succeed, but there was just so much friction: patching elf files, running wrapper scripts, re/writing packages, etc that I had to give up on it.

NixOS did not fare much better. While Nix can install proprietary drivers, it’s still really messy to use proprietary or pre-compiled software. Guix had a much better user experience and just felt way less clunky to use.

To me, the upsides of a declarative config were just greatly outweighed by the downsides of non-FHS distros.